Skip to content

Member Highlight: Carrie Solberg | Garlic-Roasted Cauliflower Recipe

August 18, 2011

It’s time to get to know some of your fellow Urban Acres members!  (see how to become a member here)

Carrie Solberg

Today, we’d like to introduce you to Carrie Solberg who also graciously hosts our co-op style produce farm stand in Southlake.  Carrie is a registered nurse and works for the Denton County Health Department. She grew up on her family’s farm in South Dakota where she was forever spoiled by farm fresh produce.

Carrie, tell us what inspired you to become a part of Urban Acres.
I’ve had several friends who have participated in produce co-op’s, and I was intrigued by their experiences. I’m always looking for ways to encourage myself to eat healthy and to consume more vegetables. Then one day I noticed a blurb about Urban Acres on a friend’s Facebook page and decided to sign up.

When and why did you decide to start eating real, wholesome food?
I was given a foundation for eating real, wholesome food during my childhood. I grew on on a farm in South Dakota. My father grew corn and soybeans and raised pigs as cash crops but my parents always had a large vegetable garden, strawberry beds, a melon patch, and a sweet corn patch. Unfortunately I had very little appreciation for this as a child. Now I just wish I could time my visits home to coincide with sweet corn season.

As an adult my initial motivation to eat healthy was to maintain a healthy weight, something I’ve always struggled with. I’ve also become more interested in how nutrition can affect a person’s overall health.

What is your favorite part about the “co-op style” produce?
I like the surprise of the produce bin. It feels like Christmas to me each time we have a produce pick-up day. I’ve discovered fruits and vegetables I didn’t even know existed and certainly have consumed types of produce I would never buy on my own at the supermarket. I also like playing a role in supporting our local farmers.

What is your favorite fruit? Favorite veggie? Why?
Fruit – there are several that I really like but one in particular was a new discovery to me last year, Asian Pears. I especially like them paired with blue cheese on a green salad. I also like the Texas grown blueberries we’ve had. I didn’t know blueberries could be so sweet ’til I discovered those last year. I try to buy extra and freeze them for out of season consumption. Veggie – broccoli, cauliflower, and zucchini would probably be a three-way tie. Zucchini bread is one of my favorite breads to make.

Please share your current favorite “real food recipe” with us.
I don’t think you can ever go wrong with roasted garlic. I found this recipe in Ina Garten’s cookbook, Barefoot Contessa How Easy Is That?

Ina Garten’s Garlic-Roasted Cauliflower

1 head of garlic
1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets
41/2 Tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper
1/4 cup minced parsley
3 tablespoons pine nuts, toasted
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice (I would recommend decreasing to about 1 Tablespoon)

To toast pine nuts – place in dry saute pan and saute for 10 minutes over low heat.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Bring a small pot of water to a boil and add the garlic cloves. Boil for 15 seconds. Drain, peel, and cut large cloves in half lengthwise.

On a sheet pan, toss cauliflower with the garlic, 3 tablespoons olive oil, 2 teaspoons salt, and 1 teaspoon pepper. Spread the mixture out in a single layer and roast for 20-25 minutes. Toss twice. Cook until the cauliflower is tender and garlic is lightly browned.

Scrape cauliflower mixture into a large bowl. Add remaining 1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, the parsley, pine nuts, and lemon juice. Salt and pepper to taste, if needed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

